$59,796 saved in 2024 so far

...and it keeps going up 🚀

This email is sponsored by Nomad for Less - want to know how to become a nomad and do remote work like me? Subscribe now!

Sponsored
Nomad for LessBecome a budget-savvy globetrotter with our insider insights 🌎✨ Join thousands of subscribers and start exploring for less!

Remember last week when I mentioned how I saved over $10,000 in flights?

Well it was actually priced in pounds and so my savings was off…

When I finally got unlazy enough to put it in a currency conversion calculator I was surprised that I did not in fact save $10,000

I actually saved $12,912 🤯

(just a few dollars extra… lol I’m really bad at math)

Not only did I save on these flights but because I learned the ropes in seats.aero I was able to book my other flight to London for June.

You see I’m doing a 5-day retreat with Natalie Ellis the founder at Bossbabe 

(a trip I’ll dive more into in the coming months eek)

And going to London at the height of the season is difficult to find flights to say the least.

I originally got on the phone with American Airlines because I had a total of 5 system-wide upgrades to use.

The problem with American is they don’t confirm the upgrades in advance a lot of the times like Delta does.

That means I was on the waitlist and wouldn’t find out if I was going to be sitting in business class seats until about a week before the flight.

For me that’s a nail-biter and not really my style.

I like to know for sure if I will be flying in business class.

But as I booked it, I paid for premium economy tickets and placed myself on the waitlist for business class using my upgrades and praying to the seat gods that I’d get bumped up.

Until… I decided to check seats.aero 

Now they don’t sponsor me - yet ðŸ˜ˆ

but boy was I glad I fiddled around with the app.

I typed in America to London Heathrow to see what options it gave.

I was surprised to see an Upper Class flight on Virgin Airways at 28,000 from Tampa to London Heathrow Direct.

Lucky for me I spend part of time in my place in Florida so it made a nice excuse to go there for a few days prior.

Virgin accepts Amex points so I logged in and transferred them immediately.

I mean, come on, a business class seat for 28,000 that’s insane!

Now I will say the surcharge was higher than I liked to see at $979 but in total it saved me $2,526

And my previous Premium Economy ticket with American was priced at $1,200

With a guaranteed business class seat this switch was a no brainer.

And now I have the comfort knowing that I’ll be drinking champagne in the lounge that comes free with my seat 🥂

Not only did I save on flights but I also ended up booking my hotel at the Andaz in London using points!

That means my total savings in 2024 travel alone is up to a staggering $59,796!!

🔥 HOT TIPS ðŸ”¥

Right now Hyatt is having a 2x bonus when you stay at Thompson and Dream Hotels - I personally stay at both of these hotels with Hyatt and highly recommend them.

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa

P.S. Don’t forget, not all points are created equal 

P.P.S The Virgin Airways lounge has a full menu to order off of so you can eat a real burger while sitting in Eames chairs.

Virgin Airways Lounge SFO