How I booked a room with points

...without the points being available

Did you know that it’s possible to book a vacation using points before you even have the points available?

This is something that has come in a pinch for me in the past.

And I just relied on it again this week.

I normally have plenty of points in my digital wallets because I travel so much and use high-earning credit cards per category spend.

But every once in a while I use all my points up and then fall short for an unexpected vacation.

Remember how in my last email I mentioned that we are going to Sardinia this summer for a 50th Birthday party?

Well this invite was rather recent and we already had 2 other trips to Europe booked.

Meaning most of my points have been used up.

When searching for hotels the prices are crazy high in the area we are staying.

I’m talking €1000 - 2000 per night.

That’s crazy high, right?

So my options were:

  1. Pay with cash

  2. Wait till more points become available

  3. Stay in a cheaper part of town and drive to the party

Luckily with Hyatt one of the perks of being a Globalist is that you can actually book rewards night before you even have points in your account.

I called up the Globalist line and spoke to a representative.

She secured an Ocean View Suite at the 7Pines Sardinia 

Now, I just need to make sure I have enough points 7 days prior to the trip, or else they charge the standard rate.

Because I need to have Hyatt-specific points I changed all my work trips to Hyatt properties.

I also was able to book several Thompson and Dream hotels since those are earning 2x right now when you register here.

Another strategy I am implementing is using my Chase credit card and Hyatt credit card as much as possible.

Chase transfers to Hyatt at a 1:1 ratio.

Making it one of the most valuable ways to transfer out Chase points.

In my upcoming emails I’ll be talking more about 7Pines Ibiza since the story is unique on how we ended up there in the first place.

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa | Founder BestSelf Compass

P.S. Don’t forget, not all points are created equal 

P.P.S Here is 7Pines Ibiza

7Pines Ibiza