I’m flying a red eye tonight

… here’s why I’m not crying about it

Today, I woke up to a very pleasant surprise, one I wasn't fully expecting.

Here's why.

I had originally booked a first-class flight from LAX to Miami, planning to meet my boyfriend there before heading off to the Dominican Republic.

I was bracing myself for another typical red-eye, barely able to sleep, stuck sitting nearly upright at 90 degrees with no meal.

American Airlines typically states that it's outside meal hours on these flights, which I think is ridiculous—who really sticks to meal hours while traveling, especially in an airport?

I mean, we're drinking gin and tonics at 5 a.m.

But anyway, I digress.

Yesterday, my boyfriend asked about my seat, and I mentioned it was 5L in first class, not thinking much of it.

However, this morning, when I checked in and double-checked my seat to see if there was a better option, I was pleasantly surprised to find it was a 1-2-1 configuration in business class.

Though LAX to Miami is a flagship route for American Airlines, they don't always fly their flagship planes, and I often end up in regular first class.

Now, you might be thinking, "Stuck in first class?

You have high expectations!"

And you'd be right.

Over the past year, first class hasn't lived up to its name.

The seats are low quality, the cushions on the new 321neos are uncomfortable after a few hours, and the service and food quality have plummeted, making the high cost even harder to swallow.

But today turned out differently.

Discovering I was actually in a lay-down seat in business class made my day.

It feels great to know I'll be tucked away in my own space, comfortable with my little puppy, ready to start our vacation in the Dominican well rested 😴

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa | Founder BestSelf Compass

P.S. Don’t forget, not all points are created equal