A Mother's Day Retreat

...using confirmed upgrades with Hyatt

Mother’s Day Weekend Retreat

I’m gearing up for a fun retreat for Mother’s Day weekend and here’s how I did it.

We are heading to Indian Wells which is right outside of Palm Springs, CA.

I’m fortunate enough to bring my sister-in-law and Mother with me.

Along with my dog Goldie of course, and my nephew who is almost 2.

Not only was I able to pay for their rooms with points but I got a sweet upgrade to go with it.

You see with Hyatt they have what’s called Milestone Rewards where you can choose an award when you hit certain milestones.

Hyatt Milestone Rewards - Source The Points Guy

I often pick the suite upgrade award and here’s why: 

  • It’s easy to confirm

  • I can confirm them months in advance

  • There isn’t a limit of how many rooms I use it on

  • I can use it on Guest of Honor rooms

What you need to do:

  • Call World of Hyatt and let them know you want to us a suite upgrade award

  • They will call the resort or hotel and find out if any suites are available

  • If so they will immediately apply it to your stay

What does this mean for me?

  • I confirmed a total of 4 Penthouse Suites

  • All for points

  • At 20,000 points per night per room

  • Saving over $8,757 on just rooms

What else I will be saving:

  • My Globalist status will give us Free Parking, Waived Resort Fees, and Free Breakfast 🥐

What’s In My Bag

For this trip it will be high 80’s with a nice desert heat 🌵

I’ll be packing some new essentials which I am excited to try out…

Swimsuits

I am a huge fan of luxury swim wear and a couple years ago I found one of the best brands that I swear by called Luli Fama.

I bought a new one from their line Positano and love the way it looks and fits

Luli Fama - Positano Swimsuit

Portable AC

I found a really compact portable AC that clips to strollers, tables and chairs which I plan to bring with us to the pool.

With a baby and a dog I want to ensure they don’t get overheated.

The one I found on Amazon allows you to put ice cubes and cold water in the bottom and it circulates the air throughout to create more of a cooling affect.

Sunscreen

My go to sunscreen for all vacations is Guava Mango scented Coola.

I love the smell and it stays on for long periods of times.

It is also reef safe which isn’t a big deal for this trip but I always try to be environmentally conscious.

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa | Founder BestSelf Compass

P.S. Not all points are created equal

P.P.S. Looking for a free Masterclass on how you can start earning and redeeming points for luxury trips? Click Here to watch now