I saved $86,968 by April 15th

...and it wasn't because of my CPA

I've reached a stage in my life where April 15th has become an ominous day.

It used to be less daunting when I wasn't earning as much, and the government would typically grant me a small refund.

However, these last several years have painted a different story, with me owing tens of thousands of dollars annually.

It's a good problem to have, indicating that I'm earning more, yet I'm always on the lookout for ways to save.

When I meet with my tax strategist and CPA, they lay out all my options.

Usually, my first question is: "What's going to save me the most on taxes and offer some return in the end?"

The "return" could be an account that grows over time or another type of investment that helps decrease my taxes and also provides a monetary return on my investment.

I have no qualms about spending thousands of dollars for expert advice to achieve the best results in the shortest possible time.

I apply the same approach to traveling and travel hacking.

Not only do I have several coaches myself, but I also offer a course that teaches people how to save tens of thousands of dollars in an incredibly short period.

The return on investment here, though, is a bit different.

In this case, it's about creating memorable experiences with loved ones, which I find equally important as minimizing my tax liabilities.

So if you find yourself in doom and gloom over the weekend, waiting for Monday, I suggest a little distraction.

(I wish my CPA could say the same things for my taxes 😏)

and if that doesn’t help you can always go doom scroll on tiktok some more 😅

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa | Founder BestSelf Compass

P.S. Don’t forget, not all points are created equal 

P.P.S really excited to tell you about Dominican Republic next week - be sure to see my reviews on Wednesday!