Do you say this as much as I do?

...and 2 of my fav ways to book free Hyatt rooms

if you saw my google calendar your mind would be blown…

every insane “you’ll sleep when you die” Gen Xer

No hate towards Gen X.

I just couldn’t write ‘millennial’ knowing my bf reads these newsletters.

He totally disagrees with me.

He thinks millennials are lazy little whiners.

I think both generations are sort of sucked into this crazy workaholic rate race of a lifestyle.

With people flaunting their Google calendars being blocked off every 15 minutes of the day -

It’s like it’s a competition over who is busier…

When really it’s probably pride, ego, or an addiction.

Maybe it’s all 3.

I'm guilty myself.

I almost started this newsletter saying “if I showed you my travel schedule you’d be blown away.”

But my crazy lifestyle isn’t really a trophy to trot around.

In fact, the crazy lifestyle of traveling for work is one of the main reasons why I go on so many vacations.

Sure, I get lots of points and that is a reason to go.

But really it’s because sometimes the only way to truly unplug is to get out of the country.

Be in a totally different time zone.

Leave your phone off wifi so no calls can come in.

And put the teams to DND.

Do you ever feel the same?

And so once a month I go on vacation.

This week we’re heading off to Cap Cana in the Dominica Republic.

And we’ll be staying at the highest-rated all-inclusive Hyatt resort Hyatt Zilara 

This is our first time staying at an all-inclusive resort.

Simply because I haven’t had a desire to go to one prior.

I’m always concerned the food and alcohol selection will be sub-par and we’ll need to upgrade everything anyway.

But I have high hopes knowing this place has 26 bars and restaurants and has a 5-star review!

It’s adult-only, which for some is a major plus.

Oh and I’m bringing my pup Goldie 🐾

That part has been more complicated than I would of liked.

I booked this trip purely with points.

No cash needed (except for tips of course).

Meaning this trip saved me a total of $2,640 in rooms 🤯

There are 2 main ways that I recommend booking Hyatt rooms

  1. Through points earned on stays and credit card spend with Hyatt

  2. Through transferring Chase points

Chase is one of my go to cards because it has a 1:1 transfer ratio with Hyatt.

Hyatt has the highest point valuation for the 4 major hotel chains.

This means your points go further when you put them towards Hyatt rather than Marriott, Hilton or IHG.

Now I’m not going to get into each hotel chain and all the pros and cons in this email (I’ll be sure to dive into more in the upcoming emails)

But if you’re wondering where to start when it comes to transferring Chase points out I’d take a look at Hyatt.

Be sure you use the reward calendar which you can access on Hyatt’s website via desktop so you know which dates you should book based on price in points.

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa | Founder BestSelf Compass

P.S. Don’t forget, not all points are created equal