A sweet hotel upgrade

... without paying a penny more - but how❓

In my last email, I dropped a hot tip on how to earn 2x points at Thompson and Dream Hotels.

(both in the Hyatt family)

Since I saw that deal going on I went ahead and did the one-click registration and booked a night.

Whenever I’m traveling for work I try to leverage point earning as much as possible.

Whether that be picking a certain hotel group to stay with, a specific rental car company, or a high-earning ticket with an airline.

Therefore the 2x was a perfect excuse to stay at one of my favorite hotels and earn extra Hyatt points for future stays and status.

For a few years now I’ve held Globalist status with Hyatt.

A status that has paid off very quickly in room upgrades.

This week was no exception with a free upgrade to a corner city view suite.

They also offered me free breakfast - which unfortunately I often can’t take advantage of while on work trips since I’m always racing around 🏃🏼‍♀️

Now Hyatt isn't the easiest program to earn status with.

They rely on you actually spending nights or on meetings.

Therefore status can't be earned through credit card spending.

With Globalist status requiring 60 nights a year it takes some serious planning.

Other options include trying to status match if you have status with another hotel.

Or if you have status with American Airlines they gift you status with Hyatt, good for 90 days with stipulations on how to keep it for a year.

With rising inflation I'm glad I have status with both Hyatt and American, giving me upgrades in rooms and flights.

Dedicated to saving you money, 

Vanessa

P.S. Don’t forget, not all points are created equal 

P.P.S. Heres a peak of what our suite looked like - Goldie thoroughly enjoyed herself 🐾

Hyatt Thompson Hollywood